The Williamsburg Village is a museum made up of 160 renovated buildings
located on 175 acres. This restored 18th century village is experienced
like a living museum, where visitors can see how the colonists lived, and
experience a taste of colonial life -- perhaps including some of the original residents.
Several Ghost Tours operate in Williamsburg. Here are some of their stories.
The George Wythe House was built during the mid-1700's and was
designed to be a wedding gift for George Wythe and his wife.
George Wythe was America's first law
professor, and the teacher of Thomas Jefferson. Sir Peyton and
Lady Ann Skipwith would come and stay for extended periods of time, up until
1779, when Ann died in childbirth.
After the capitol was moved to Richmond, in 1780, the Wythes moved there. George
was poisoned in 1806.
When the Wythes moved out, Sir Peyton's brother, Henry Skipwith,
and his wife, Elizabeth, moved into the Wythe House.
Some of the Manifestations
Colonial Woman apparition - Around midnight, some report a clicking going up the main
staircase. Many think it is Ann Skipwith, running up the staircase in anger,
after having a fight with her husband. On her way back to the house, she lost one of her dress
the clicking rhythm sound still heard could be the sound of one
She also has been seen combing her hair
at her dressing table. A custodian reported he saw a colonial
woman in an evening dress standing on the staircase. Thinking she was a guide,
he went over to speak to her. She vanished into air.
A Wythe House hostess reported she felt a tapping on her
shoulder. But she saw no one. When the house was empty, a hostess heard furniture being moved around. At the top of the stairs there are cold
spots, even on hot days.
While walking through this cold spot, a hostess suddenly felt a presence try
to push her back.
Other employees have seen a friendly group
of see-through "gentlemen," sitting in wingback chairs by the unlit
fireplace in the study.
The Peyton Randolph House
In Williamsburg Colonial Village, the home faces market square, and
is one of the original structures.
This two story Colonial mansion was built in 1715 by Sir John Randolph. His
family lived there throughout the 1700's, and was eventually sold to someone
outside of the family. In 1824, Mrs. Mary Monroe Peachy owned the house. One of her children died after falling from the
After the Civil War, a young orphaned soldier stayed with the Peachy family
while he went to William and Mary College. He came down with tuberculosis and died there.
Many have heard the shattering of a mirror and the sound of heavy footsteps. In
an upstairs room residents have awakened in the middle of the night, to see a
white, shimmering, male figure.
The Grieving Old Lady Who lives upstairs
Late at night in the small rear 2nd floor bedroom there have been reports of a thin old lady in a gown and
laced night cap. Visitors reported that she would wake them up politely by calling them by
their names, and then she would wring her hands and cry. Could this be Mrs. Peachy?
The Ludwell-Paradise House
This two story brick House became the
home of Lucy Ludwell in 1806. She loved to take baths several times
a day in the second floor bathroom ans was considered to be a little strange.. By 1812, she was committed to the state
mental asylum. For over a hundred years, various residents of
this house report the sound of someone taking a bath in that
bathroom. It is Lucy Ludwell back in her beloved bathtub?
Are all three houses still haunted?
Come and find out.